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Alternative Dispute Resolution Department  
Superior Court, County of Fresno 

 
ADR FAMILY LAW MEDIATION PANEL 

~ Applicant Eligibility Requirements & Program Overview ~ 
 

 
PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS 
 
All participants must be licensed to practice law in the State of California and in good 
standing with local and state regulatory agencies and have been practicing law for at 
least 5 years with a primary concentration in the area of family law for at least 2 years. 
 
EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
 

All participants shall have 40 hours of mediation training.   
 
At least 30 of the 40 hours of mediation training required must be in the form of 
single, comprehensive, mediation training program as outlined in the Dispute 
Resolution Programs Act (DRPA) and shall include: 

1. Conflict, communication and mediation theory; 
2. Stages of the mediation process; 
3. Mediation and communication skills and techniques; 
4. Mediator ethics; 
5. The law governing mediation, including mediation confidentiality; 
6. Observation of mediation demonstrations and participation in role 

playing; 
7. The Rules of Conduct for Mediators in Court-Connected Mediation 

Programs for Civil Cases; 
8. Cultural and gender issues in mediation; 
9. Issues concerning the role of mediators in the preparation of mediated 

agreements. 
 
All participants shall have at least 3 hours of Domestic Violence training to 
include the identification, assessment and proper methods of handling cases 
involving domestic violence. 
 
The balance of any education hours in mediation training must be approved for 
continuing education by the State of California. 
 

MEDIATION EXPERIENCE 
 
After completion of the 40 hours of mediation training, potential mediators, who have no 
prior mediation experience, must have completed: 
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1. At least two mediations of at least 2 hours in length; 
a. Either co-mediated with a mentor mediator or observed by a mentor 

mediator; and 
b. Evaluated by the mentor mediator. 

 
REFERENCES 
 
Must submit at least two (2) references or evaluations from individuals familiar with the 
applicant’s mediation skills through observation or participation in mediations conducted 
by the applicant. 

 
 
ALTERNATIVE QUALIFICATIONS 
 
An applicant who does not meet all of the eligibility requirements above may still be 
considered for placement on the court’s panel. The applicant must provide evidence of 
sufficient education, training, skills, and experience satisfactory to the Presiding Judge 
of Family Law, ADR Administrator and ADR Oversight Committee Chair. 
 
INSURANCE 
 
All applicants must have or agree to obtain professional liability insurance coverage 
upon approval for the panel.  Mediators must provide a copy of the Certificate of 
Insurance. 
 
ORIENTATION SESSIONS 
 
Applicants may be required to attend an initial or periodic orientation sessions as 
required by the Court. 
 
 
PROGRAM OVERVIEW 

 
Voluntary & Confidential: Participation in the mediation program is voluntary. 
Parties may elect to participate in meditation with a mediator on the ADR Family 
Law Mediation Panel at any time.  Mediators shall preserve and maintain the 
confidentiality of all mediation proceedings except where required by law to 
disclose information.   
 
 
Structure: The panel operates as a fee-for-service resource for the public. 
Mediators on the panel are privately engaged for services by the participating 
parties. The Court encourages litigants to consider the option but does not order 
or assign cases directly to panel members.  The mediator will be responsible for 
their own mediation intake process and case management. Mediators will be 
required to use and/or file designated Court forms for cases participating in the 
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program, including but not limited to, the ADR 100 Form- Statement of Agreement 
/ Non-Agreement. 
 
Compensation:  All mediators on the panel must agree to abide by the following 
payment schedule and related guidelines: 
 

1.) The first 90 minutes of the mediation will be provided to the parties at a 
reduced fee. At the time of case intake and/or prior to the 
commencement of the mediation session, parties must be made aware 
of the reduced fee structure for the initial 90 minutes and market rate 
option thereafter. 

 
2.) The total cost for the initial 90 minutes of mediation will be $150.00. The 

$150.00 fee for the initial period applies to the actual mediation session 
only.  Mediators may not charge any additional fees for intake, 
scheduling, administration, preparation, case evaluation, brief review or 
for time associated with the securing of the mediation facilities 
associated with the initial period.  Violation of this provision may result 
in the immediate removal of the mediator from the Family Law Mediation 
Panel. 

 
3.) If after the initial 90 minute period parties want to continue in the 

mediation, the mediator may then elect to charge their market rate for 
the remaining time in the session and for any future mediation sessions. 
The mediator must provide information regarding their hourly rate, 
retainer etc. before providing any additional services over and above 
the initial 90 minute session. 

 
4.) The mediator is responsible for securing payment for services rendered 

and the subsequent collection of any of outstanding balances owed. 
 

Case Outcome Reporting: The mediator must complete, serve, and file an ADR-
100 Form, Statement of Agreement or Non-agreement, within 10 days after the 
conclusion of the mediation.  The mediator must not provide any information 
beyond what is specifically requested in the ADR-100 or disclose any settlement 
terms, confidential communications, mediation conduct, or mediator conclusions 
or impressions. 

 
Additional program information will be provided during the application 

process.  Please direct your program inquiries to: 
 

Mari Henson 
ADR Administrator 

Superior Court, County of Fresno 
1130 “O” Street, Rm. 575, Fresno, CA. 93724 

559.457-1908 ~ mhenson@fresno.courts.ca.gov. 


